water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

Water scarcity are becoming more widespread in many parts of the world, becoming a global issue that needs to be addressed. This essay will examine the causes of this crisis as well as potential solutions for the matter. There are a variety of different factors that contributed to this phenomenon, one of which is due to droughts and climate change. Drought is a natural occurrence when there is a lack of precipitation and prolonged arid conditions. In recent decades, due to extensive greenhouse gas emissions from human activities such as fuel burning, we as a society have helped speed up the global warming effect, causing the earth's temperature to become hotter by the minute. This then has an effect on droughts and rainfall patterns, severing limiting the amount of freshwater we can receive and as such leading to the water scarcity problem. Evidence for this can be found in a research paper from Harvard University that shows how the frequency of droughts has increased since the 1990s, consequently leading to an overall decrease in average precipitation. In order to counter this problem, I propose one of the potential solutions is to invest in research and development in new, greener, technology. It's no secret that the energy industry is one of the largest contributors to global greenhouse gas emissions, and as such I believe that by investing more in finding alternative methods of energy generation that, on a larger scale, have minimal environmental effects, slowing down climate change is not impossible. In fact, this plan has already been in action in certain countries, such as the Netherlands, where it's reported that the government have invested more than 1 billion dollars in maximising the efficiency of their wind turbines. In conclusion, the problem of water scarcity isn't a simple issue to resolve as there are many other factors at play that result in our world's current state. Saying that though, I believe that global warming and climate change play a significant role in this dilemma, and if we can eliminate it from the equation through advancements in technology, solving the water scarcity problem will soon be a reality.