Some believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop life skills than time spent reading To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view

Many argue that doing an activity that requires real-time movement and thinking, is way more important than activities such as reading in developing our life skills. I think both of these methods are equally important. As we grow up, we might want to experience the world and make up our own guide book for life. However, one cannot experience every fact in his own life span and thus, needs other experiences, commonly conveyed through books, to be able to grind. Firstly, humans ' way of perceving is through being actively engaged in every situation. We have a variety of senses such as vision and olfactory. Furthermore, the memories in which we incorporate multiple senses, are the ones we learn more from. So, the more extensively we engage with an activity, the more senses get involved and moreover, the better we remember. For instance, research has illusterated that the best chefs, are the ones who have a great sense of smell and also an intact vision and so, they can evaluate their food from more aspects and cook better. Hence, humans learn easier and better when they use all of their energy and feel the task they are doing and this has been a part of our lives since the beginning of our history. On the other hand, we can't know everything necessary unless we use other people's science and discoveries. Humans have paved their path with uncountable inventions and discoveries they've made. Although not everybody can take the most out of any book, one cannot give up on the wisdom and the knowledge hidden in every book or instruction. For example, a great chef needs to know the instructions and because there are so many ingredients in the world, one can not find the right amount of every single item using trial and error method and therefore, the instructions are always needed. Thus, although humans are capable of discovering and learning directly, we can gain a lot of knowledge by just reading books of the great minds. To conclude, although some people think that only active engagement with your environment is beneficial to your future life, it is an impossible task to master the skills of life without using both of your own experience, and others' experiences, together.