These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this? How could more people be encouraged to come into the teaching profession?

Nowadays, many people opt for another profession rather than teaching because of the challenges that the teaching profession presents, such as low pay, tremendous pressure, lack of motivation, etc. Therefore, it requires a lot of encouragement otherwise, it will have significant impacts on children’s education. This essay outlines some of the common problems and solutions for this. One of the reasons for the shortage of teachers in many countries is the low package that they receive which makes it difficult for them to make ends meet. Individuals tend to join other professions because of competitively higher salaries than teaching jobs. For instance, software engineering is one of the highest-paying occupations than teaching which encourages a lot of individuals to pursue their careers in this line. Other reasons are the lack of infrastructure in rural areas, improper teaching environments, a lot of mental pressure, and long teaching hours in some nations. Sometimes, teachers need to manage large size classes and deal with challenging students which affects their mental and physical health thus making it an unappealing job. Moreover, their jobs are not recognized in some countries and are undervalued. To solve this problem, government and private schools must motivate them by increasing their salaries and providing them with a proper teaching environment. Governments should open training institutes that focus on providing proper teaching techniques to help them succeed. Additionally, governments and individual institutions should recognize their contributions by awarding them with certificates and cash prizes. To conclude, teachers play a vital role in shaping the future of children and nations. That is why, governments and individual institutions should address the root problems to make teaching the most appealing job.