Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes” Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there is a controversial debate about crime penalties. Some people claim that stricter penalties are the best decision to reduce crime while others state to use other measures which are appropriate to human rights instead of severe prisons. Actually, I agree with two sides and elaborate on my perspectives in this essay. On the one hand, stricter penalties are basically crucial to help people they can make society the best place without any illegal acts such as rape, murder and extreme fraud for other innocents in the area. For,instance imprisonment prevents somebody from being killed, breaking human rights or damaging an individual’s property. As a result, human beings can feel themselves out of danger and go on their habits calmly. From another angle, other measures can be approved by opponents against extremely severe punishments as a workable way to decrease offence. Meanwhile, my perspectives impress that alternatives such as appealing to offenders to do community work or education, not only can aid them in not being estranged and alienated from society but also curb them from committing unlawful activities again. For,instance criminals are contributed to work widening roads or mining activities that are more effective for them. To sum up, needless to,say stricter penalties should be set for serious crimes which can not be controlled by remaining criminals in the freedom. However, some alternatives can be used to punish people who act small and unserious frauds. Both sides have crucial roles on which they depend.