Many people are copying famous celebrities from magazines and TV. Why is this happening? Do you think it's a good idea to copy celebrities?

In the contemporary era, it has become increasingly common for the younger generation to imitate renowned celebrities. This essay will delve into the reasons that contribute to this phenomenon before presenting my personal stance on the matter. There are some reasons that shed light on why individuals model themselves on famous people from magazines and TV. Firstly, it has become much easier for people to follow their idols due to the widespread of social media. Almost every celebrity in modern days has their own social media accounts on Twitter and Instagram where they can post anything without traditional media filters. Consequently, fans can receive regular updates from the superstars simply at their fingertips. Furthermore, some individuals copy well-known people to emulate their success. Influencers usually show off their affluent life via their social platforms to captivate attention. Their lavish lifestyles are admired and idolized by certain populations. These people try to follow whatever their idols do to seek similar success. However, I doubt that the cult following of celebrities is beneficial to the individuals and the society. In addition, everyone has their own disposition and experience. Imitating others does not guarantee success but risks demolishing one’s personality. Moreover, not every famous person brings a positive impact on society as some of them normalize bad habits and do not act as good models to the public. This is exemplified by Justin Bieber, a famed singer all over the world, who was exposed to drug use and alcohol addiction, posing a detrimental impact on his younger fans who are still immature at their ages. In conclusion, the rise of social media and desirability to success increase people ’s tendency to follow famous groups. It poses some problems from individual and societal perspectives, threatening one’s individualism and influencing the youth with bad examples.