10.An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is claimed that more and more people are changing their appearances by surgeries. People decide to perform these activities normally because of external factors, but this puts people ’s lives in danger, and it is therefore, I believe that it is a negative development. People are becoming more influenced by what others say, do and think. This is because an increasing number of individuals are criticised for their physical aspect, when a lot of people tell them the same things they begin to doubt if what the others are saying is true or not, causing uncertainty and dissatisfaction in their appearance. Furthermore, what close people do affects how the individual acts. When individuals see that friends have decided to do plastic surgery and had successful results, they might be influenced and also do it. For example, in Korea and China, lots of people decide to implement nose and eye surgeries because friends and family have done it and told them to do it, so they will get prettier. However, when carrying out plastic surgeries, people put their lives in danger. When the individuals decide to do an operation, they need to sign a paper accepting that they can have life danger and that if the final result is not the one that they wished, they need to accept. Since not all the results are good, sometimes the operation can fail, leaving people looking worse than they were. Normally, when people change their appearance, they won’t do it just once, they will do it again and again, and as a consequence they will have facial sequelae. For instance, in China, a girl who named herself “real Barbie”, did too many times cosmetic surgeries so she could look like Barbie, but now she cannot make any facial expression. So I believe, that the development of changing a person’s appearance by surgeries, is a negative progress. In conclusion, normally individuals decide to carry out cosmetic surgeries because of external influences, but this can lead to life problems and sequelae, and it is, therefore, a negative evolution.