Space exploration is too expensive and money should be spent on more important things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Exploration of the cosmos is an exciting challenge for humans, however, some people consider the conquest of space as a waste of money. I am inclined to partly agree with the statement because our planet actually faces serious urgent problems but we can not deny the benefits of space programs. Therefore, this essay will reveal some arguments to advocate my point of view. On the one hand, all kinds of space activities demand huge investments and take a significant part of the national budget. For example, developed countries pour money into maintaining an international space station, launching rockets and producing equipment for astronauts such as spacecraft, helmets and vacuum-packed food. At the same time, a dizzying number of terrestrial issues are not resolved. Governments could be wiser and devote more financial support to cope with the problem of unemployment, poor life conditions or climate change instead of space expenditures. On the other hand, space technologies have produced essential spin-offs and continue to revolutionize our lives. For instance, the more probes and satellites scientists put into space, the more information people gather about the universe and turn it into useful products. Thus, satellite technologies have already contributed to communications such as satellite television and GPS. Moreover, as mankind is destroying the Earth, the challenge to find a new homeland is becoming more crucial. That is why space exploration could be an essential industry in the foreseeable future. In conclusion, space technologies are definitely highly expensive, nevertheless, most of the efforts by scientists and astronauts positively affect modern lifestyles, and the importance of space exploration will probably increase.