Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the education benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Formal assessments, such as tests and exams, are still prioritized by the educational system in many nations. There is an opinion, that this trend has more benefits for schools as it helps to assess students ' knowledge quickly. However, I disagree with this statement, thinking that alternative ways to mark learners' skills have more advantages and this essay will explain why. There are some benefits to assessing school children's knowledge through tests and exams. Firstly, this way of testing gives schools a great opportunity to mark lots of students ' work in a short period of time, as normally, there are deadlines for teachers to post the results. Secondly, each student is provided with the same amount of time for the test ensuring equal rights among the learners. For instance, in Russia, every high school student, before graduation, needs to pass the exams for subjects such as math, English, history and literature. This helps teachers, students and parents to see if the young individual acquired knowledge that was given at school. On the other hand, I believe that every person is different and it is unfair to provide the same examination system for each individual. This means that students need to be considered as unique individuals, whereas formal assessments demonstrate the opposite, putting all students in the same environment. Additionally, some schoolchildren can be very talented and creative, but are not interested in formal disciplines. For instance, in Russia, it was evident that many children who are good at music and playing instruments were struggling to pass formal examinations. That is why, I truly believe that more creative and innovative ways need to be embedded. In conclusion, although there are some benefits to exam students ' learning abilities in a traditional way, I believe that this trend has more negative aspects than positive. Exams and tests do not prioritize students ' unique characteristics, but conversely consider every child to be the same as others.