In some countries more and more people are becoming intrested in finding out about the history of the builiding they live in. What are the reasons for this. How can people research this?

Exploring the history of dwelling is becoming an area of interest among people in some countries. There can be many reasons for this increasing interest, in anthropological perspective, in historical perspective and economic perspective. In anthropological perspective, it can be considered as the intuition of humans in general in search for their identity and the place they live in. For an example one might be interested in the home which they inherited from their grand parents to get to know about the family history or the lifestyle of their ancestors. On the other hand in historical perspective, specially if the house is built with specific technologies in the past or if the house is visited by a renowned personality such as a king or a queen, an author, etc. then it is considered as historically valuable asset. Such historical value might affect the economic value of that house or the building. There are many instances that such buildings are converted to tourist destinations and hotels because of the historic value of the building. Moreover, depending on the economic perspectives of the modern days, such as accessibility, facilities, architectural design, etc. people might be interested in searching for the history of their dwelling. People can search for the history of their dwelling using many sources such as talking to people, searching for available records, using the modern technology, etc. Discussing with who lived in that home or the building previously and talking with people who lived in the neighbourhood is one of the sources that someone can find information about the history of that building. Moreover, one can search for available personal records about that house such as diaries and letters, or official records available with the administrative body such as the municipal council the particular building belongs to. If one is highly keen on finding the history of a building scientifically he or she can use modern technology such as Google maps of different times, blue prints of house plans, or different scientific testing and scanning methods to search the structural history of the building. All in all, studying the history of one ’s dwelling will be an interesting subject to discuss.