Some people believe that marriage is a natural and vital part of one’s life. However some other people believe that marriage has become a redundant institution and no longer has much relevance for today’s youth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Marriage has involved with human societies for a long period of time. It has been said that it is an essential part of human nature and necessary for people’s life. Nevertheless, some oppose and believe that this trend has become less significant especially for people of the new generations. Personally, I partially disagree the latter argument and this essay will provide some relevant reasons. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons suggesting the unnecessity of marriage. One of the notable reasons is the issue of economics. To elaborate, due to huge changes in people’s lifestyles, establishing a family or marriage requires huge budgets and higher cost of living. In other words, singlehood in this era is considered a cheaper way to live; consequently, a rising trend of singlehood has been becoming more prevalent. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned argument, there are other aspects worth mentioning. To begin with, people still long for love and possession, and this remains unchanged since the very beginning of civilization. Therefore, individuals view marriage as a symbol of those values. Apart from that, traditional cultures still play an important role in deciding whether to marry or otherwise. Parental and societal expectations have pressured many young adults to launch their new families via the most conservative way, which is marriage. Indeed, even though many people believe that marriage is natural and necessary for people’s lives, others argue otherwise. Financial pressures may impact on decision to live in singlehood. However, the issue of virtues symbols and the force of conservative cultures are the remarkably crucial factors concerning individuals’ decisions whether to marry or not. Thus, marriage will still be an essential institute in human societies, at least in the very near future.