Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

Nowadays, some high school seniors have a year-long break to work or travel instead of pursuing college. In my opinion, this will be more advantageous for them compared to minor disadvantages. It is evident that students will have a trade-off when they defer university enrollment. A major drawback comes to the fact that they will fall behind their peers in study. In fact, gap-year takers would lose momentum were they to resum their study in the university, therefore, feeling peer pressure is supposed to be unavoidable. In addition to this, some people assume that they will gain a little practical experience in a working environment when it comes to being early workforce. This is because there are several entry-level jobs assigned to them, which do not help them cultivate relevant job skills. However, from my perspective, students will take more advantages of delaying tertiary education for one year. In particular, they will enrich their life experiences and hone their practical skills when travelling or working in alien cultures. For example, travelling aboard helps them advance communication skill as well as adaptability, which appears to be beneficial in adulthood life. Besides, attending vocational training rather than formal schooling, affords them identify a suitable career path. Therefore, they will prepare major knowledge and transferrable skills during the university life if they embark on higher education. Last but not least, one-year time for comprehending and reflecting on themselves seems to be valuable for students before they become occupied with intense study schedule. In conclusion, while high school seniors might face some small drawbacks when gapping a year, they eventually reap more tremendous benefits on the whole.