Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays it is common for parents to purchase plenty of toys for their children. Some of these are beneficial for children ’s mental and physical growth. While I perceive that lots of toys have some advantages, it has some disadvantages as well which I will discuss in this essay. On the one hand, the main advantage of having plenty of toys is that they keep children engaged and make them creative and imaginative as they explore the toys in all possible ways. For instance, when children play with puzzle-based toys, they think about different possible ways to find solutions which results in mental growth. Similarly, children stay away from anxiety when they are surrounded by their favourite games. Additionally, they tend to become social while playing games with their friends and sharing their toys. On the other hand, lots of toys make the home unorganized and difficult to clean since children leave them anywhere in the home. Nevertheless, purchasing many toys may lead people and children towards consumerism which the parents would not want their kids to fall for. For example, when parents buy toys on a regular basis, children ’s expectations and demands increase which ends up by shopping lots of materialistic things and falling into the trap of consumerism. Additionally, some of the toys are dangerous for kids if not purchased according to age groups. For instance, if a toy that has sharp ends is bought for kids of age group 1-2 years, most likely they can injure themselves. To conclude, toys play a vital role in the development of children ’s minds and bodies and enjoy their childhood. But it is also essential to purchase only a limited number of toys according to the proper age group keeping in mind the overall well-being of babies.