The numbers of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

In recent times, the population of children enjoying book reading decreased significantly. The influence of social media and electronic gadgets are among the reasons for this dramatic change. Nevertheless, positive parenting and the promotion of knowledge through books at school can encourage children to grab a book and immerse themselves in reading. It is evident that young people today enjoy playing with their gadget as more of their groups are looking forward to owning a computer gadget, some of them are as young as five years old. One thing that entices children is its interactive games and friendly buttons that provide easy navigation to the consumers. It is no doubt that even a four-year-old kid could effortlessly play computer games. To illustrate, consumers are hooked on gadgets is the unique features that allow them to communicate with their peers anywhere and anytime. This case is similar to the impact of social media as children would rather choose to read notifications on their Facebook or Instagram feeds every minute and second while they are browsing their social media. For example, notifications like reels and videos are non-stop as there are millions of them popping out on social media. Facebook can even suggest more videos related to what children are watching as the Internet has the capacity to identify someone's interests based on people's virtual activities. Nevertheless, children are still considered as young people trying to discover themselves and with proper guidance, they will be able to circumvent healthy habits. Parents at home could greatly influence children to read books by planting seeds in their brains every day that reading is a fun activity enriching parent and child relationships. Parents may start facilitating bedtime stories through books every night. This activity will only take 15 to 20 minutes, so it is not that hassle for the busy schedules of parents. Moreover, parents may initiate conversations with their children through stories they read in books. Reading is also considered a fun learning activity, as such, pleasant reading could be continuous and strengthened at school. Teachers may utilise the use of children's gadgets by downloading electronic books. This strategy may allow children to use their computers to read books. In conclusion, the low rate of children reading books for fun is the effect of using social media and computer gadgets replacing book reading as a more enjoyable and interactive activity. However, parents and schools have a wider influence on children, hence, they could redirect children to choose books more than social media and electronic gadgets.