Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar additives in packaged food are major problems in today’s manufactured food resulting in public health issues such as diabetes and hypertension. This is the reason why people suggests that the government should impose heavy taxes on it to multiply product cost so that people will be discouraged from opting for these products. I do partially agree with the statement as I feel it is not an ultimate idea to abandon these items. Imposing huge taxes on such goods obviously helps certain groups of people to avoid purchasing it as it becomes expensive. However, for those who can afford will always buy and bear certain health problems. For instance, a packet of biscuits costs Nu. 100, if the government increases it by 100%, it costs just Nu.200. It remains affordable for those who are rich and desperate for these items. Therefore, it’s of no use sometimes to make more expensive in discouraging people. Nevertheless, there are other groups of people who are much more economical where they will count every penny and value them. For them it is best solution to make them aware of hit of the price and decrease their consumption. Moreover, those who are of the middle-income group become effortless to buy when the prices of the goods hike. Then certainly they will switch these items as on-essential items and buy only if it becomes genuine, so for these people also it serves the purpose. In a nutshell, for the public to reduce or sometimes to clean up the consumption of these sugary items unnecessarily it is good to control certain populations but more or less another half would remain uncontrolled.