Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It’s often said that a child’s upbringing has a big impact on the way they will face challenges later in life. Essentially, children from poorer families are usually better equipped to deal with problems rather than those who have wealthier childhoods. This essay disagrees with that that statement, as in the world we are living in the social lottery matters more than ever in many countries. First of all, our future success starts to be determined the moment we enter high school. Moreover, the school we attend plays a major role in university applications, as some educational institutions are more prestigious than others and, therefore harder to get into. Thus, for more affluent households access to better high schools, universities and tutors is easier, giving those kids a head start compared to those in destitute conditions. Secondly, wealthier parents can afford better educational resources such as tutoring and high-quality schools. Consequently, this can result in a disparity in educational achievements. Not only will these students potentially have access to better professors, but they will also be provided with a kind of monitoring and help which will impact their academic success. Thirdly, more prosperous families often have access to influential networks, which can provide valuable opportunities and connections in the future. Particularly, while on the job market these relationships might come in handy for job opportunities and career advancement. In conclusion, although it´s argued that kids who don’t grow up with large amounts of money are better prepared for the future, this essay raised important points as to why this might not be the case. Despite challenges in early life shaping them to be more resilient and hardworking, unfortunately we live in a world that’s mostly controlled by money and power.