The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many believe that Social media like Facebook, twitter and instagram has greatly effected the way people connect these days by reducing the face-to-face contact in day to day life. I personally feel that, though it made some obeservable difference in reducing the face-to-face connection, it also helped majorly in many other different perspectives like connecting people miles aways, helping in making new friends and reconnecting with an old friend. Firstly, With Social media like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, People got an opportunity to start new connections and few great relationships started on the social media platform. For instance, In the last decade, many people who connected online are now great friends and few are even married. While making new friends, the other main advantage with the social media is connecting with our family and friends who are living in a different state or country. Our loved ones are just a dial away only because of the Social media. I personally, live in a different country far away from my parents, I am able to talk to my parents everyday using video calls and audio calls offered in these platforms. Secondly, In the past decades, People used to loose contact with friends and distant family because they moved to a different place. But now, with the help of social media, we not only keep the contact with close ones but also reconnect with an old friend. For example, After I moved to a different country, I did not have any friends from my home country untill I came across few of my school classmates on the social media living in th esame city as I am. That really reunited us all into a common group again which is of great stress relief as we all are far away from family. In conclusion, Although social media had an impact on face-to-face contact in everyday life, It helped people in more ways by connecting lost friend, making longdistace long distance relations easier and making new friends.