13.Today, some food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat locally produced food. To what extent do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, it is common to transport food from one country to another. Some people argue that eating food from their own country is better for their nation’s economy and nature. This essay will argue that despite the fact that consuming local food can reduce contamination and food expenses, it is far more advantageous to allow the importation of food from different places because bonds between countries will be built and the economy will be improved too. Eating only regional food is more eco-friendly. This is because it reduces the pollution created by the transportation of food, as fewer aeroplanes, trains and boats will be used for the importation of products from other countries, so less carbon dioxide will be expelled into the air. Also, the food bought in other nations is more expensive than local food, since the shipping cost is added to the products. Consuming local products, allows people to buy healthier and fresher food at a lower price, so individuals can save more money for other situations. For example, local fruits and spices taste better and cheaper than the ones that are chemically processed. I believe that not all food from other nations is expensive and now there are many technological advances that can solve pollution problems using natural energy resources, so these are not significant drawbacks. The great advantage of the importation of food is that it allows more people to try different types of food with no need to travel to other countries and understand different cultures. Since there is importation it will be exportation too, so it brings positive effects on the economy of the countries that practice these activities. Furthermore, in a globalized world, a good relationship between countries is important too. Then having economic transactions between countries will strengthen the bond between the nations. For instance, in European countries, trade of products is very common, which these led them to have better relationships. Therefore, I would argue that the benefits of allowing the exchange of products are more significant than the drawbacks. In conclusion, consuming food from other regions would increase pollution and it is more expensive than eating local food, but it can improve the country’s economy and create strong partnerships between the nations, so the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks.