In many countries around the world, it is common for families to run their own business. Some people think that keeping the business within the family is the best approach whilst other believe this could lead to problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to family companies. It is believed that family-owned companies are good not only for people involved, but also for both the local and global economies. On the other hand, others believed keeping the business within the family could lead to problems. In my opinion, a run-family business has more disadvantages than advantages. On the one hand, it is agreed that owned companies have flexibility with life-issues and ability to decide quickly. The main reason is that a run-family business includes many possible members such as parents, wives, husbands, children, or next generations who can take the roles of the board members and employees. As a result, there are many fantastic benefits associated with working with beloved ones. One good illustration of this is a family-owned business can have ability of swift decisions, especially when deadlines are tight and determinable actions must be taken. If all members are in close communications, these decisions can made easily for the good of a whole organisation. While non-family business tends to have very clear responsibilities for every role, family members sometimes are required to wear several different hats. For example, Estee Lauder, who was founder of a famous cosmetic firm, shared that she had involved in many elements of company such as designing, marketing, training, … On the other hand, it is strongly believed that doing business within a family may find it hard to survive. People often have this opinion because there can be a great pressure on future generations to keep business going, even they have no real interest in doing so. Therefore, the company can be led to be worse and worse due to unenthusiastic management. Furthermore, family business strongly bases on trust but trust alone is not the best way. For example, in 2017, the Samsung Group chairman sole stock to his son with unfairly low price which showed a negative structure. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that running own business will help to develop economy for not only the family but also for country. Meanwhile, others assume that it certainly takes risks to own a company. Personally, I tend to believe that working in a non-family firm might be secure because most of non-family organisations have good structures and managements.