Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Freedom of speech is a global problem and has become a controversial topic across the world recently. The raised question is that whether speaking freely is really needed in the liberal world? Undoubtedly, the ability to freely express our thoughts is a fundamental element of living in a free society. Foremost, freedom of speech is the demonstration of human rights and demand of social development. This enables us to engage in meaningful discussions and make well-informed judgments, as well as question oppressive structures while holding those in positions of authority responsible. For instance, citizens in some countries have the right to contribute opinions to build constitution or raise objections about unsatisfactory policies that do not bring benefits to the people. However, it is imperative to acknowledge that freedom of speech should not be used to spread hate and provoke aggression. If the people are allowed all the things, they can propagate untrue things or exaggerate everything up and as a result they could not recognize what are true and what are false because there are a lot of information available by a lot of people. Sometimes, some political criminals abuse the right to disseminate bad information or spread untrue rumors that affect the government. In conclusion, freedom of speech should always be attached to every era and the way we think or say will affect our society considerably. Therefore, it is imperative that we maintain a balance between protecting freedom of expression and establishing a secure and inclusive environment for everyone. Despite some harm effects, freedom of speech is still essential in liberated society.