Prision is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that criminals should be punished best in jail. However, prisons are an acute part in order to control the crime rates. From my perspective, prisons can not fully curb the problem it will make criminal more aggressive and leads society into a threat zone. The foremost reason to deny this notion is sent to prison is not the particular solution to the problem. Some criminals commit crimes such as stealing materialistic things or money because of their poor circumstances such as poverty and to get medical treatment. Also, in the case of drug addicts, they are not even aware of right and wrong and they commit illegal activities against the law. Strict punishment like lockup in both scenarios can spoil the future of the criminals because society looks upon them in disguise, provides a bad character certificate for their whole life and leaves them with a devastating career which results in a more aggressive and depressive nature. On the other hand, a better civilization is vital for building a secure society. The criminals after completing their punishments in jail lose the feeling of socialization and develop a sense of blaming others for their circumstances. So anger and aggression force them to commit more crimes and harm the common people because they can not adapt themselves to the outer environment after spending a long time in the cell. For example, the reports from Indonesia revealed that most of the murders were done for money during last year made by old prisoners who suffered from mental trauma. To conclude, to fully curb the crime, the aim should be to diminish the root of the problem rather than sending it to jail.