Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that non-salaried community services such as working in a charity or enhancing one’s neighbourhood ought to be a mandatory part of a school's curriculum. I completely agree with this statement and believe that there are many personal benefits that are attached to it. One of the reasons is that by choosing this course at high schools, adolescents can improve their social behaviour and learn how to interact with others in a polite and kind way. Moreover, this would help them establish and enhance their interpersonal connections while they speak to new individuals and try to help them. For instance, after working in a charity many youngsters claimed that they are happier and more satisfied with their lives as they had socialized with many members of the society and also said that they might launch their own campaigns trying to promote philanthropy. Another important aspect of being a community activist is that by working at different parts, they will gain precious work experience which is not only good for their resume but is also an important step toward being more creative. Despite having to work under pressure from time to time, youngsters can learn to make good decisions and be more creative to tackle a number of obstacles. As a result, their confidence and sense of self-esteem will boost which will motivate them better to take responsibility. For example, after being a part of a voluntary work, many parents said that their juveniles were more likely to make use of their experience in other aspects of their lives and also were more careful with their actions. In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is very beneficial to make unpaid voluntary service an obligatory part of schools as this would help with pupils’ sense of self-worth and social skills.