Online films streaming has become the latest entertainment option for people, especially after the Covid-19 pandemic that happened two years earlier. What is the cause for this phenomenon? Will online films streaming outweigh the popularity of going directly to a cinema?

Owing to the stay-at-home regulation as a prevention measurement from the governments during the pandemic, online film streaming services have grown bigger than ever as entertainment that can be easily enjoyed at home. Even after the pandemic ends, the online streaming application is still chosen by a lot of people. It is believed that there are some promising reasons behind the popularity of online film streaming. Online film streaming platforms have been garnering attention for their good features. Streaming films online is considered to have a wider choice of options. Applications that perform this service usually offer a variety of films, series, and even documentaries, from every possible country in the world. Another plus point is that streaming virtually is more accessible and practical as one can use their gadgets, such as laptops or phones, to watch any film to their liking. Due to these features, many thought that film screenings at the cinema were showing a downward trend. Nevertheless, there are things that keep people going to the cinema to watch a film. Therefore, online streaming platforms might not be able to outweigh the cinema experience. For instance, compared to virtual screenings, movie theater has better sound systems and bigger screens which leads the films to become more vivid for the audiences. The movie theatre also allows one to share emotional responses with other audiences, which also makes the experience seem to be more special, especially when shared with groups and couples. In conclusion, amidst the overflowing popularity of online film streaming, cinema still has its own charms that could pick the interest of the public. Although virtual film streaming is more accessible and comfortable, movie theatre still serves as a better experience for the customer to enjoy their films more directly and vividly.