Some people think that children should only read academic books. others believe that reading books for entertainment is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Children usually prefer to read non-academic books, while their parents often have their own opinions on it. Some adults believe that their kids should only read books from the school list and ignore any other books. However, there are also people who think that books for entertainment are also as significant for children as academic reading. Both these points of view have a lot of advantages and disadvantages. Despite the fact that I totally agree with people who consider fiction as a serious literature that matters, this essay with discuss both sides of this topic. Some people prefer to ignore the fact that children need some entertainment in their lives, so it would be easier for the older generation to make kids read only "special" literature which, no doubt, they think is way better for the young minds only because it ranged as an academic one. I know some families where offspring have never read fairy tales or childish books, but at 10 years old have already read books about chemistry at the university level, even if the child does not like chemistry at all and wants to be an actress. These youngsters are some of the smartest kids in their class, they know almost every single thing from students' books. Nevertheless, they have no idea who Cinderella is, and why other kids are scared of the Blue Beard. Those heirs may be geniuses, but they are unfortunate. At the same time, another part of the adult world believes that academic and non-academic books are equally essential for young persons and their minds. They prefer to let their kid have the right to choose what to read. Of course, academic reading allows us to broaden our horizons and to grow as persons. Moreover, in some stages of education, scientific books are even more important than fiction ones. But harmony in everything is the key to success, as my mother likes to say. If a parent does not allow his child to read fantasy, then how does he expect his kid to find any creative way to solve the problem? The child will either try to educate himself, secretly read the Rampien in his room or, what is,more likely to happen, will just miss this stage of growing up, having no idea how reading can be entertainment and not work. To sum up, both types of books should be in a "reading diet" both in cases with adults and children. Reading is not only about learning, studying, and difficult times. It is also about dozens of immense fantasy worlds, lifelong romance stories and childish fairy tales.