Food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilizers and better machinery. However, some of the methods used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many today argue that due to the growth in the population numbers, there has been a steep increase in the demand for food. Therefore advanced machinery and fertilizers are used to fasten the growth of plants and meet people ’s demand at low price. Although this situation can bring some benefits such as for economy, these genetically modified foods could damage the health of people. To start with, it is admitted that this new means of farming has brought numerous benefits. First of all, using different pesticides and fertilizers made the cost of food much more affordable especially for low-income families. Moreover, it can fasten the growth of plants, increasing the number of crops on the land. In addition, the use of new machinery has also brought some conveniences for farmers. Because it is an indisputable fact that utilizing machines can save the time and the labor. As a result, farmers can have also time to spend for themselves or for their family members. Furthermore, with modern machinery the process would go without emitting much wastes to the environment. For example, a research carried out on wheat using new fertilizers contributed to 40% productivity and higher strength against weather disturbance which can be a beneficial solution to famine in different parts of the earth. However, though there are some advantages that the use of food additives and machinery can bring, still the drawbacks of the condition outweigh. Initially, using chemical substances and fertilizer to make the flavour of food better and fasten the growth of plant can harm the health of people. It is an undeniable fact that the level of toxins in these foods would be significantly high and as a consequence, it cause different ailments such as allergies, cancer, obesity and etc. Moreover many restaurant are also selling GM food for much cheaper price to attract a lot of people. After consuming these foods people start suffering from illnesses and even many doctors predict for parents that there can be a high risk of mental disabilities for their newborn babies. In conclusion, health is much more important thing than the money. It is better to consume healthy and organic foods for quite expensive price rather that eating harmful foods for cheaper one.