It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Due to the higher tuition fees at Universities, a significant number of adolescents prefer to earn money instead of acquiring higher studies. There are enormous advantages and disadvantages to this scenario. The first and foremost beneficial point of it is to enhance skill sets at an early age. To explain, juveniles are directly going into the job market after school, which gives them an opportunity to explore the real working environment. Consequently, it enhances their skills. Furthermore, most of the pupils get jobs to accumulate funds for their tertiary education to avoid the financial pressure of their education on their parents. For instance, a survey conducted by Cambridge University of over 200 colleges found that more than 80% of post-graduation students pursued jobs to accrue funds for their fees before getting admission. Conversely, there are a few disadvantages of it as well. Health and fitness are the most prominent factors associated with dropping a year and getting a job at a young age. Entering into the professional world means a person should be capable of taking responsibility and coping with stress. Due to a lack of experience, some teenagers suffer from stress, anxiety and even exploitation which greatly impact their lifestyle. Moreover, when a person becomes addicted to earning money, it is a hardship to resign and join academic education again. In conclusion, saving money for a bright future and comprehending the working culture at a young age are the two primary advantages of it. Not being able to get higher education as students become money-addicted and health-related concerns are the biggest disadvantages of the gap year after school.