Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A group of people contend that it is better for authorities to invest on rail network rather that other modes of transport. Although, I believe that this statement can be logical, but I think governments should also have some plans to progress the roads and highways. On the one hand, spending a part of financial resources on roads infrastructure have a lot of benefits. Firstly, expanding the road networks and highways people can use their own cars for short and long journeys. Therefore, not only individuals will have their own privacy but also they will able to travel to different sites and cities without spending more time and costs. In addition, by developing the urban and rural roads different parts of industry will flourish faster. For example, a farmer who cultivate some agricultural products he/her can deliver its products to the consumer as soon as possible. On the other hand, allocating more funds on rail networks is useful for any country for a number reasons. To begin with, a lot of accidents occur on roads yearly because of using cars. However, travel by train has high safety and hence developing of railways lead to an incredible reducing in death toll and casualties. Furthermore, in recent decades air pollution has been an important issue in large cities. Anyway, it is clearly known that many of cities try to solve this problem by urban train development. To sum up, while spending money resources on subways and trains significantly diminish road casualties and contamination of cities, in my opinion investment on road networks can be beneficial.