Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Globalization has made the fact that people live in a country where speaking a foreign language is essential to be true. Therefore, some claim that this causes serious social problems and practical problems. Nevertheless, considering the improvement in language and independent skills, I strongly disagree this point.   Undeniably, living in a foreign country may bring mental health due to the language barrier. Human beings are the creatures living in a group, and are not suitable for living alone in most situations. If a person does not understand any second language, instead of his mother language, effective communication cannot be made with others, which will lead to the emergence of loneliness and mental illness. In addition, even if an individual may use a foreign language to some extent, a misuse may also occur because learning a second language is not a skill that can be undertaken in a day, resulting in that the efficiency of communication is in a low way. This can also bring psychological health. However, language skills can be promoted by living in a foreign language. Even though the aforementioned issue may exist, body language is another effective method to talk with local citizens because it was the main way for ancient people to exchange ideas in the circumstances where there was no language. Besides, local individuals who are hospitable like to speak to foreign people in a way that they can understand when a word or simple sentence can be used. After enough similar practices are made, non-native speakers can feel the advance of their language. Furthermore, independent skills can also be improved by living in other countries. In a situation where one has to use an unfamiliar language, he needs to face the challenges that may happen in life without any help from his family members or friends. In the process that facing difficulties and solving them, his independent skills can be enhanced. Take making friends as an example, making friends in a native language environment is mostly passive, and one gets to know other people through his parents and friends. But in a foreign expression environment, he must actively communicate with others in order to make friends.   In conclusion, although living in a country where you have to speak a second language may cause negative development in the short term, the comprehensive ability, such as language and independent skills, can be facilitated in the big picture, this is the advantage that cannot be ignored.