The key to reducing crime is to have more police patrolling the streets.’ How far do you support this proposal? What other ways of reducing crime may be effective?

With the development of economy and society,people are becoming more and more concerned about the rising crime.Some people believe that increasing numbers of police patrolling the streets is the effective solution to decrease criminal behaviour.Personally, i disagree this opinion and think education and government policy are the therapies to social disease--- crime. At first, educational can play a great role in two aspects,which can divided into school and prison.For school, teacher and headmaster should using lecture and other forms of activity,which let student realize that crime can cause serious destruction to family and society.It is beneficial that student avoid crime from psychological aspect.For prison,the authorities can use similar method to state that the bad consequence followed by crime.At the same time,some experts believe that secondary crime occupies the main part of the crime,so prison can put forward some skill training lessons for prisoner,it is favour of prisoner find a decent job after they back to the society. Secondly,the government should introduce some relevant polices to limit behaviour related to crime. For instance,violence and pornography.Nowadays,people can easily browse these production without limitation for age. As a result,the government should strictly limit and scan some production in the website. Besides, government can improve the efficiency of existing police rather than increase their numbers, for instance by better training in computer-based misdeed. This would generate improved rates of detection of crimes and more efficient use of the vast amount of technology available. Another viable option would be to increase penalties for criminals, which would have the benefit of deterring them from committing crime at all. Both these alternatives would be comparatively cheap, and would address the root of the problem rather than seeking to suppress the symptoms. Overall, we have seen that increased patrols are of limited effectiveness because they are superficial in nature. Educate for student and prison,better training and stronger sentencing would appear to be far more robust alternatives these days.