Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road saftey. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of road safety and traffic accidents is one of the controversial subjects. Although a number of people state that we should stop the offensive drivers with strict fines to bring the traffic accident rate to a lower level, others believe that we should use other means to enhance road security. In my opinion, utilizing the other tools could be more effective, but alongside punishments. Many people claim that strict punishment is the main solution to halt outlaw drivers from doing dangerous actions. For instance, police can fine, stop their vehicle or invalidate their driving licence. It is apparently clear that no one likes to burden such punishments, but is it enough? In my point of view, it is definitely effective, but there is always someone who breaks the law and causes a problem for others in driving. On the other hand, a group of people claim that we need more ways to improve the safety of roads. Firstly, governments should build the roads in a way that conjunctions reach to a least and the design of roads potentially decreases the rate of accidents. For instance, traffic signs should be used in proper positions. Secondly, governments should incentivize individuals towards using public transport like subways, taxis or buses which lead to less crowded streets and result in fewer setbacks. This is achievable by offering people some discounts or dedicating special routes to public transport in order to allow them to move faster than private vehicles. Lastly, we have to raise awareness among nations to comply with the law and drive patiently. we could do this through TV programs, social media, or even in our daily conversations. It has been seen that the more awareness one has, the fewer accidents may occur. In conclusion, some individuals believe in strict punishments in order to secure our roads, however, there are other groups saying other means like constructing the ways properly, encouraging people to use public transport and informing people about road security and correct ways of driving is more important. I firmly believe that both views should be considered to apply to bring safety to our roads.