In many parts of the world, there is continuous coverage of sports on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion?

Nowadays, watching sports on TV is a popular hobby in society and its attraction makes people worried about the youngsters that their obsession with watching them can result in a separation between them and playing sports. It is crystal clear that watching TV consume their leisure time instead of playing sports however, I believe it encourages them to play them and improve themselves to be like their idols. To begin with, with the advances in technology, covering sports matches and also all the news and rumours around them is developed more than before till some young individuals are significantly involved with them that they do not care about their fitness and play any sports. Based on the limited leisure time everyone has, their interest in watching sports programmes results in lower hours of working out. For instance, football matches are always played at the weekend which is the perfect time to exercise while students are not able to do it on weekdays. On the contrary, every sports player has a hero in their profession who they always wanted to be like. Hence, watching sports on TV is an encouragement for many people who work hard to be one of them. Moreover, the excitement that matches give to their followers makes them want to play and experience it by themselves. For example, whenever the volleyball World Cup is held every 3 years, the figure of teenagers who want to learn it and play it skyrockets and then again it decreases. To conclude, what is a major concern for people is the huge advertisement and broadcasting of sports which can cause youngsters would rather to watch sports on TV than play them. Although it is a time-wasting activity that can glue them into their sit, in my opinion, their icons can be an important reason for them to train harder.