24.An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the number of people choosing plastic operations to make their appearance perfect. There are several reasons behind this trend. Although there are certain benefits to this approach, I believe that this is a negative development. To begin with, people decide to undergo cosmetic surgery to address their physical imperfections. For example, some with natural defects or acquired deformities induced by illnesses and injuries are likely to carry out cosmetic surgery to overcome these conditions. Another factor contributing to the popularity of this trend is boosting an individual's self-esteem. It is undeniable that plastic operations have helped millions of people around the world become more confident no matter what problems they have, such as the size of their breasts and the shape of their noses. In other words, they can regain their confidence, thus having happier lives. Nevertheless, it is important to acknowledge some potential downsides of cosmetic surgery. Firstly, this type of operation can cause some threats which may affect patients ' mental and physical health. Scientific reports have proven that a great number of patients die or are severely debilitated because of tissue damage, infection and physiological stress from the procedures themselves. Furthermore, the particles of fat and prosthetic filler can enter the blood system and block circulation, causing cardiac arrest. For example, a few years ago, a Vietnamese woman was killed after carrying out surgery for liposuction. This case has created an obsession for both her family members and society. Secondly, some people may regret after they have plastic operations. This is because they are not satisfied with the result. Consequently, they tend to undergo another surgery to correct the previous one, causing an addiction to cosmetic surgery. This ultimately can lead to an unnatural beauty and make patients even more stressed and depressed. Evidence shows that a huge number of people commit suicide because of the resultant appearance of their surgery. In conclusion, people are opting for cosmetic surgery to cope with their physical imperfections and improve their self-esteem. However, I firmly assert that this approach is a negative development due to its potential risks to patients ' physical and mental health.