Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

These days, people are living in a digital era, and as a result, many kids have their own devices and it’s usual for them to enjoy video games every day. Some people believe video games are bad for their children, while others are on the opposite side, they literally think no way video games going to harm the children. Both sides of this problem have their own reasons, so this essay will talk about both the disadvantages and advantages of letting kids enjoy video games. First thing first, let’s move onto the first aspect, the advantages aspect. There are two main reasons, the first one is video games help them to entertain after hours of learning and studying in classes. For example, I am a student, and my schedule is always filled with classes at school or bonus classes or homework. And video games are really an effective and fastest way to entertain me every night. In addition, not only me, but also many of my classmates enjoy video games, so I believe video games truly help kids entertain. The second reason is kids can learn to work on a team in video games, especially online games or multiplayer. In many online multiplayer games, children usually team up with their friends or strangers to play, and they can learn about teamwork skills through this. You can see this happen in many popular games like Arena of Valor, players have to work in a team of five and the team always have to share missions together in order to win. For the disadvantage side, there is one main reason. Playing video games for hours can make children's minds always think about video games, which leads to having problems concentrating and keeping their minds on some things for long. For example, according to scientific research in New York State USA, kids who play video games for longer have longer concentration time and easier to angry, while kids who play less keep calm better and can keep their minds on something for much longer. To conclude, this essay has given reasons for both the advantages and disadvantages side of children's enjoyment of video games.