Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that Actions from the government are the only way that solve the housing shortage issues in big cities. However, there are many other circumstances which would affect the housing market, I believe actions from the leadership find a faster solution for accommodation-related issues. On the one hand, Authoritative steps can prevent the housing crisis in metropolitan areas since action from them needs to be followed by everyone. Moreover, By introducing residential beneficial schemes the government should make entry into the housing market to construct homes which creates a strike that balances supply and demand in the houses. On top of that, People elected entities should be vigilant to deal with any unprecedented or unexpected fluctuations in housing prices. For example, In Hyderabad, Since, most of the housing market is controlled by the government, we hardly see any terrible crisis in the market. On the other hand, As it is considerably dependent on the global market and due to several factors the crisis can take birth. Because of the higher interest rates and less purchasing power people are more hesitant to buy a house or build a house which may cause a shortage in supply. Only making blame on the government does not help in rectifying the housing crisis. To conclude, though I agree If the government starts introducing housing-beneficial schemes which make the housing crisis less severe, Still, I believe, It can also experience vulnerability due to terrible global economic conditions and many other factors.