Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this on society and families?

These days, the number of people who postpone having children is increasing day- by day. In this essay, I will discuss the arguments for this issue and offer my point of view related to the impact of this phenomenon on the community and households. A majority of people today delay becoming parents for several reasons. The primary reason might be the economic factor that can be a strong inhibitor to have children. In today’s critical economic conditions, couples have to work hard to cover all the living costs. This causes young people to be uninterested and demotivated in having a child. Another reason could be that, nowadays, individuals have become more selfish and cannot dedicate their lives or delay their plans to look after a baby. Many people think that children are an obstacle to achieving their ambitions and consider them as a limiting factor in happiness and freedom. As a result, two grounds of economics and personality are the main reasons for this issue. In my opinion, childbearing at an older age affects both society and families with detrimental effects. To begin with, the number of young workforce would be dropped unexpectedly and companies could not enjoy creative and fresh staff. The aged employees gradually lose their efficiency and as a result, companies’ productivity will decrease. The second destructive agent would be that parents who decide to have a baby at an older age, may be faced with some biological problems such as genetic mutation or miscarriage. This could cause some irreparable harm to families, whether mentally or physically. Thus, the increasing trend of not giving birth to a child at a young age will cause a lack of active labour and genetic disorders. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, many couples prefer having children later. I also argued about the effects of this phenomenon on families and society.