The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20 % in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects

Nowadays, parents have many things to concern for their kids and one of the biggest issues is overweight. Many research says people who were born after 1999 in Western countries tend to be obese before turning 15 years old. These kinds of problems are getting more serious in the last 10 years. This essay will discuss what causes these problems and the effects that can happen. Firstly, we can’t argue that the main reason for these things is food. Today, food ’s qualities are getting worse than 20 years ago and that is because of a high number of junk food restaurants. For example, 20 years ago, there were only 1-2 places per city, but now, we can easily find junk food in every block, so the more junk food they sell, the more kids weigh. The second reason is their lifestyles that have changed. Children today don’t play outside as much as before. They mostly stay in their house and do things such as playing video games or chatting with friends. Even though there are many campaigns that encourage children to go outside they tend to not care much. To discuss the effect that this problem could cause, the first thing they will face is health problems. Since they don’t go outside and eat only junk food, their weight can increase very easily. Moreover, another effect is the high risk of accidents. People who are fat are not fast enough to react to emergency situations and that could cause a chain reaction in other people as well. For instance, if we have tsunamis, fat people cannot run away and there are lot of chance that they could smash other people. To sum up, the cause of overweight children is a risen number of junk food restaurants and also their lifestyle that encourages them to stay at home and not move much. From these causes, the effects that possibly happen to them are bad health and accidents that tend to affect other people.