There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is a stressful era for students who want to stand out in schoolwork. Some suggest that non-academic subjects should be kicked out of the syllabus to ensure kids focus on academic work. I totally disagree with this proposal. All subjects are critical for children's development. Skipping sports and cookery at school to gain more time for math and science is nothing but short-sightedness. Success in standardized tests is not everything. Children need comprehensive development to cultivate a personality with perseverance, patience, and sportspersonship. For instance, statistics show that the most respected CEOs are usually not those with business school degrees, but those who are formerly athletes. Furthermore, being involved in physical education or cooking can boost a student's academic performance. Studies show that music and physical exercise are great complements to the day-to-day study. They can even accelerate cognitive development and elevate memory. Admittedly, these subjects do take up a significant amount of time. I can remember that when I paid less attention to courses like arts or music in high school, I was able to laser focus on the "main" classes. Since they have no direct impact on exam results, it is reasonable to strategically neglect them and focus on English and chemistry. However, life is not just about exams. In fact, the scores of tests or what schools people attend have less and less influence on people's achievement. The characteristics and values of a person, on the other hand, can have long-lasting influence on his or her accomplishments. In conclusion, I am completely against the notion of deprecating non-academic subjects in school. Grades and college admission are not worth sacrificing a happy and meaningful childhood. Parents and educators need to value the significance of personality-building disciplines. PE classes, arts, cooking, and volunteering can be as defining as history and biology for students' future careers and well-being.