Some people think it is better to impose higher tax on unhealthy food as this will motivate people to eat healthy food, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differing opinions regarding how to promote the consumption of healthy meals. Whilst one group contends imposition of higher taxes on junk meals is the best way, others disagree with this. This essay seeks the discuss both suggestions. I will give my opinion. On the one hand, eating unhealthy meals is associated with poor health. Such meals are high in fats and oils, known to cause stroke and other cardiovascular diseases. Unhealthy citizens means the government funds will be spent taking care of unwell persons rather than taking care of very important projects such as education which will help with the progress of the economy. Therefore, it is imperative steps are taken to curb this and its drawbacks to society. I can understand the argument in favour of taxing junk food at expensive fees to deter people from consuming such foods. It is only logical that people wouldn't want to spend lots of money on something that will lead them to an early grave. On the other hand, life has become busy and cooking has become an increasingly difficult task for people to perform. People are working long hours and the escape means for them to grasp food to fill their bellies is buying fast food which saves time. Food is an essential commodity and it should be made accessible to members of society. If fast foods are taxed at higher prices, it will only lead to hungry citizens. Even though studies have demonstrated the effects that come with taking in unhealthy foods, it is also known as a means of convenience for people with busy lifestyles. Most consumers of such meals being aware of its deleterious effects also say they exercise to burn some calories to protect them from the proven health complications that may arise from eating such meals. Hence, I can understand why people are against higher taxes for unhealthy meals. To sum up, I partly agree with the national authority's outrageous increment of taxes on fast food joints to deter the consumption of junk, meanwhile, food shouldn't be too expensive to make members of a nation go hungry.