The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in everyday life. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to technological advancement, many social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are being utilised by people to communicate with one another, instead of meeting in person. Although the convenience it brings to stay in touch is beneficial, the personal connection and sense of comfort that can only be felt physically cannot be matched. This essay will discuss this further and provide a conclusion. To begin, despite their busy schedules, individuals can now keep their loved ones updated on what is happening with their lives and with just a flick of a finger, they can send a message any time of the day. Take Facebook Messenger for instance, not only that they have a daily 24-hour chatting service, but people can also upload their photos as their story of the day, allowing everyone to see each other's posts. Although these types of applications keep people connected, they may also lead to isolation since there is no need for someone to go outside to socialise. On the other hand, the downside of this technological development is that people lose their sense of emotional and physical connection, which a screen interaction cannot replace. By this I mean, that sending a bunch of crying emoticons through a message to a grieving friend might not be enough for them to feel comforted. This also applies to a couple who wants to establish intimacy with each other, which may be difficult to develop if done via the Internet. I believe that the strength of our relationships and how we value them are heavily influenced by the physical efforts we make. In conclusion, social media plays an important part in making communication easier for individuals, but to share certain stages in life face-to-face deepens their connections more than the former. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in this situation.