Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Health deterioration becomes a public problem, so each individual and government think of workable ways to improve public health. Some people hold the opinion that providing more sports centers or health clubs is the most effective method, but I believe proper health education would lead to more notable outcomes. Providing more sports facilities for the public will enhance their health. For instance, some free outdoor gyms spring up in parks in Hanoi – a densely populated capital of Vietnam, prompting more people to exercise regularly. Hongkong is a similar case, where many soccer pitches, squash courts, and swimming pools have been opened free of charge to the public, so they are more interested in working out daily. They can not only burn redundant calories and build up muscle through regular exercise but also open their network which betters their mental health. However, I would argue that increasing the provision of sports amenities would have little impact on public health. Despite the free access to sports facilities, many still fail to boost their health because of their laziness and no interest in sports. Therefore, I think that we need to impart knowledge about the importance of a healthy body to each individual. For example, officers should be educated that the lack of physical movement is the root reason for backache, headache, obesity, or even loss of creativity and short concentration span at work, so they will be more motivated to do it regularly. It is also better if sports competitions are held frequently to attract them to take up sports. In conclusion, the installation of more sports facilities can improve public health, but I think this measure is not more viable than education.