It is not neccessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can just learn much from books, films and the internet . Do you agree or disagree ?

It is argued that nowadays people have access to enormous amount of books, movies and content on the internet, they can just learn about any culture they wish, without needing to visit there themselves. Although I think the mentioned points are great means of learning a foreign culture, I still believe they cannot replace the effect of traveling to a place and seeing things for yourself. It is obvious that, thanks to the technology, people are learning about any culture they want, easier these days. Firstly, going through different books of various centuries gives the opportunity of experiencing their history by ourselves. Secondly, although movies have been around for a shorter part of the history, we can still learn about people's thoughts, clothes and foods of their contemporary culture. Finally, the internet is as always helpful and there is a variety of vlogs and also courses on foreign cultures in platforms such as Youtube. However, it is important for us to avoid having bias in the books we read and the films we watch and moreover, look out for all of the misinformation we witness on the internet. On the other hand, one should visit a place if he truly wants to learn about their society. Traveling to a place provides you with the chance of getting to know the people, tasting the food and witness the architectural design of the building there. Indeed, some of these experiences cannot be gained through reading books or watching movies. For example, you really don't know how Iranian food tastes without eating it in a traditional resturant in Iran. Furthermore, we know for a fact that most of the famous culture researchers and historians were actually, travelers. One great example could be Markopolo who visited every country on the Silk Road and took some great notes about each country. To conclude, while today's technology has enabled us to have access to a tremendous amount of data and a whole lot of people get interested in other cultures this way, I believe one still has to visit and feel other cultures instead of only witnessing it from far distances.