children education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays educating children has become expensive. As such, in some nations, the government bears part or all the costs involved. I will say the benefits of this act outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, education forms the pivot to societal development. To achieve quality education, a nation requires multiple school buildings across the country, qualified teachers, devices like computers, chalks, writing boards and furniture. To acquire these is capital intensive. Therefore, channelling national funds to such a foundational area is key to brooding qualified personnel in the country. It is very expensive to train people in some fields compared to others. For instance, medical training in Ghana is a lot of money. As one has to purchase very expensive textbooks, pay for tuition and obtain electronic devices for learning as well as the multiple medical devices used to practise. This simply means beyond good grades, caretakers should be capable of funding the medical training of their wards. But in reality, not all brilliant students are from affluent homes. Hence, the load pertaining to fees when subsidized or completely taken over by the government, brilliant but needy students who dream of becoming doctors will have their goal realized just as their well-to-do mates from good homes. To add to this, most accommodation facilities at tertiary institutions are quite pricey. I agree there's a need for the government to support the payment of these so that shelter does not become the burden of a young mind that's supposed to be focused on studies. However, the government has other projects like the health sector to channel some money to. And truth be told, there are very wealthy families in society who can afford very expensive formal education for their children. Therefore, it is not logical for such persons to enjoy free education as the lawmakers need to save money to channel them to other important areas. In my opinion, the government may run at a loss in its quest to help everyone's education. So, the government should be selective in those whose tuition is subsidized so it can put to use the remaining money for other projects for the benefit of the whole nation. To sum up, I agree that government support for education whether partial or full is more advantageous than disadvantageous and should be encouraged.