An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. what are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping centers rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

Nowadays, without a doubt, there is a massive increase in larger shopping areas. Although this is disadvantageous to smaller corner shops, I believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, malls can meet all the needs of the demanding consumers. This is mainly because they sell a wide range of products that are both affordable and within reach of their customers. For instance, Tesco sells groceries and many other handy tools from vacuum cleaners to hammers and nails. Additionally, they offer home delivery services at cheap prices which makes them the best retail store in the UK. Therefore, people are more than happy to shop with them. On the other hand, big convenience stores can have their shortcomings. The convenience and affordability attract an overwhelming amount of customers to them. For example, the queues for paying the grocery and finding a parking space are both off-putting for some people. Additionally, convenience stores lack the uniqueness of local businesses. Although the products are easier to get and affordable in shopping malls they lack the feel and quality of a corner shop. Furthermore, convenience stores have a negative impact on the environment. Hence, some individuals still support local businesses In conclusion, while large shopping areas have their pros and cons. In my view, the pros far outweigh the cons. Hence, it is predicted that larger stores will be more convenient and affordable.