Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the government and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the excessive use of plastic materials has become an indispensable factor in our lives, although it has a damaging effect on the environment. This essay will examine the main causes of this phenomenon and possible solutions to this problem. In the beginning, the two main reasons for the excessive use of plastics are the substantial consumption of many goods and low prices. Firstly, it goes without saying that we are living in a consumable era, where tons of products are sold on a daily basis; accordingly, the packaging system is part of these goods. For instance, most eatable products like snacks are sold with a plastic cover in order to save them from germs and to ensure their health condition. Also, we should not neglect the cost factor, whereas any business seeking high profit and low cost; consequently, using plastic fulfils this point for a lucrative business. Moreover, some possible solutions to this problem are regulating new laws to limit the usage of fossil materials and increasing awareness campaigns in society. To demonstrate, if the government state a law to increase taxes on plastic, many producers will search for cheaper materials to be used; therefore, the usage levels will get lower. Also, all the institutions in society like schools or organisations should initiate internal policies to limit usage, in addition to that, social media campaigns should be created for awareness. For example, encourage the replacement of plastic with paper. To conclude, due to the aforementioned discussion, we may safely conclude that decisive decisions should be taken by the government and individuals to save our nature and keep our ecosystem in great condition by reducing the usage of harmful materials like plastic.