It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

Nowadays, not many students tend to pursue science subjects at a higher level of education. This essay will explain the reasons along with the effects on society. The foremost reasons associated with less interest in scientific-based courses are their complexity and their expensive tuition fees. This is no secret that science is considered a hard subject due to its need for a more complex understanding such as the mechanism of the human body or engine calculations which need advanced mathematics and physics knowledge. Furthermore, these particular majors have expensive tuition fees, leading to a lack of interest among unprivileged students who do not have enough money to pursue those paths. For instance, according to Tempo Magazine, the tuition fee for medical students at the University of Indonesia is nearly double that of social science subjects. Regarding the effects, those issues are related to a shortage of skilful professionals and slow development in those countries. If there are fewer workers who have degrees from science programs, it can lead to a shortage of vital job positions in companies and government institutions. In addition, this phenomenon will cause a decrease in experts’ availability which plays a significant role, in creating an invention in order to develop the countries. Dony Sourous, an analyst at the University of Edinburgh found that less qualified engineering manpower significantly to the development of the United Kingdom. In conclusion, while many students prefer to choose non- science subjects, this can result in several problems later on in life especially in country developments. The government could provide some scholarships or decrease tuition fees to tackle this situation.