The government should reduce the budget on the arts and spend more funds on education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that the government should increase their budget for education and decrease it for entertainment. I partly agree and disagree with this statement. The following essay will outline the reasons why I feel that both academia and the arts are equally important and thereby should share an equal budget. To begin with, education is the key to developing a nation. The reason why I partly agree with their statement is because of the lack of importance the authorities usually give to the academia of the country. For instance, public schools in Bangladesh rarely take children out on field trips, or foreign visits or provide quality reading materials to their students. Despite teachers giving their best efforts to accommodate a good learning environment, they are incapable of doing further as a result of low funding. The government certainly need to invest more in children through their education as the next leaders of the nation will be shaped by education, from the new generation. On the other hand, it would be unfair to argue that education is everything. As a consequence, I also partly disagree with this statement because art equals creativity and creativity is also important for children. Employers in a job interview for example, will often select the candidate with the most versatile qualities and experiences. In other words, children should be taught to think outside of academia by honing other skills should they want to be truly successful in life. For this reason, I believe that different forms of entertainment such as movies, painting, theatre, extracurriculars etc will make the youth more meaningful creative and ready for the future. Thus, creative knowledge is as important, if not more, than theoretical knowledge. To conclude, there are merits and demerits to the claim that the government should lower their budget for arts and increase it for education instead. Although, this may result in a better academic environment for the youth; it will severely impact their creativity skills. Rather, I recommend that the budget be distributed in equal portions for both subjects.