Question: Over-fishing has become a very common practice in many countries. ● Why is so? ● What do you think are the effects of over-fishing?

The major business for the community staying in the coastal areas is fishing across the nations due to the huge demand for fish across the world. To fulfill the demands at a great level, many countries are practicing overfishing which has significant negative impacts on marine life. This essay outlines some of the reasons for overfishing and the impacts of this. Firstly, the consumption of fish has increased worldwide due to its nutritional values like omega, fatty acids, and protein which are good for the health of all age groups. Additionally, there is a huge demand for fish oil among athletes since it helps in muscle recovery. Moreover, fishing is the only source of income for people staying in coastal areas apart from tourism therefore overfishing is happening. For instance, as per the survey conducted by many nations in coastal areas, the outcome states that it will be difficult to survive for individuals if they leave the business of fishing since tourism businesses are highly impacted during monsoon in those regions. Secondly, it is causing an imbalance in the marine ecosystem as many aquatic animals are now listed as endangered animals due to overfishing and water pollution. It also has negative socio-economic impacts since targeted fishing can result in a population decrease of fish like tuna and impact the supply of such fish in markets, thus affecting the livelihood of the community involved in this business. To conclude, 70% of the earth is covered with water and marine life. Any kind of imbalance in aquatic life will have a huge impact on the other species of the globe. Therefore, it is essential to protect marine life from pollution and overfishing. Therefore, governments should come forward and provide subsidies to people staying in coastal regions to start some businesses or create some measures to allow only a limited amount of fishing.