Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is no doubt that waste products could bring huge pollution to the environment. While some people believe that the amount of waste which is recycled from homes is not sufficient and governments should consider a law about it, I would argue that laws would not be practical and there are other useful ways that would work better. To begin with, it is really important to consider that improvement in social behaviour is not accessible through making laws. Governments cannot control every single action of people around their region, in fact, laws cannot be accessed everywhere. For example, when people are on vacation in nature, no one is there to observe their behaviour and they may throw away their trash without any concerns about the laws! Moreover, waste recycling is not measurable. I mean how the governments can evaluate every single person or each family member recycled his/her waste of consumption? To sum up, it seems that this statement would lead to a huge waste of time and budget. On the other hand, I think cultural activities would bring a significant difference in the amount of recycled waste from homes. These cultural actions can be started by different types of advertisement stuff. For instance, making animations about the importance of waste recycling or promoting folks by giving free cinema tickets against more waste recycling. This would guarantee that the next generations behave properly and hopefully will bring more recycled waste from homes. Furthermore, voluntary groups which got motivated by those advertisements can help governments clean their neighbourhood or even jungles. In conclusion, it seems that taking action would be inevitable for governments to address the problems, but I reckon enacting a law cannot be effective and actions such as cultural activities and advertisements could work better.