People are living in a ‘throwaway society,’ using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, people easily discard their belongings after a short use. This essay will discuss some causes and problems associated with these. As a way to overcome social media pressure where people showcase flashy lifestyles, most viewers are pressured to live up to such standards for recognition. It is common for seemingly wealthy individuals on social media platforms to gain lots of followers. To keep up with such trendy life, people often do away with what they already have to make space for the current items that are sold. They feel the need to stay current in their fashion choices. Such behaviour is common among celebrities who do so to stay relevant. To illustrate this, Ghanaian pop star singer Wendy Shay constantly showcases her plush lifestyle. She posts images of current brands of bags, shoes and clothes she owned by her. In an, interview she mentioned it's her way of getting people obsessed with her efforts to catch up with modern styles and listen to her music for more profit. Meanwhile, a common problem that arises from such is lay persons who take such celebrities as mentors begin to copy their way of living. To gain money to acquire branded items, they indulge in foul activities like robbery and prostitution. These are dangerous as they can end up in jail or acquire sexually transmitted infections. It is clear the deleterious outcomes such trends can lead to. Also, the world's population is huge and there are needy people in even wealthy societies. People's way of showing benevolence is quickly sending away what they have used for a short while to such people and acquiring new ones. To illustrate this, it is a common practice in Ghana for churches to ask congregants for donations of their used items to be given to orphans at orphanages. This is a positive act to emulate. However, the drawback that comes with this is that people who are asked to donate may be under compulsion to give away belongings they still have use for just to be seen as being kind. In as much as giving is good, people should be allowed to do so freely. To sum up, catching up with fashion trends makes people quickly do away with what they have whilst brooding social vices is a consequence of people who emulate such people wrongly.