Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

In the era of technological advancement, a number of devices and online platforms are available to learn new things, get adequate information on any topic, and relax the mind and body; therefore, some individuals believe that the popularity of books has disappeared nowadays. In my opinion, a large number of people prefer alternative options for getting information and entertainment, and books have become less popular among them. Analyzing the statement and explaining further various convenient and attractive applications play an important role in replacing the books. To put it simply, the masses have their own electronic devices with high-speed internet; as a result, they are now able to fetch a lot of information in more interesting ways. For example, YouTube, the most famous app on the internet, provides plenty of eye-catching video tutorials in several languages for a diverse range of topics, which an end user can view at any time from any place. In addition to this, these videos also have some controls such as playback mode, subtitles, and screen adjustments that attract more people to utilize this app. Moreover, people feel comfortable gaining knowledge through videos instead of reading an entire book. Furthermore, the hectic lifestyle of modern people has influenced this negative trend in various ways. First, reading a book is a time-consuming process, and in this fast-paced world, individuals do not have adequate time for it. Secondly, they have learned multi-tasking to survive in this highly competitive market. For the above two reasons, when they commute to their workplaces, they try to turn on their portable TV in their cars and utilize their time to learn about new subjects from those videos. Apart from this, they also watch movies or documentaries in the same way to unwind. Last but not least, these options are mostly free for them in contrast to the books for which they have to purchase, and also sometimes they have to wait for delivery. In conclusion to the above statement, in this modernized era, a large population of human beings prefer other modes of entertainment and education rather than books; hence, books are becoming less popular.