21.While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the popularity of university education, it is of the opinion that vocational training should be prioritized to help alleviate a shortage of qualified workers in the workplace. Personally, I hold a different perspective on this notion and I believe that both approaches are equally important to society. On the one hand, it is obvious that not all people can pursue higher education which focuses on academic performance and research. In fact, it should be harmful to presume that everyone, no matter how talented they are, has the same ability to study at universities. For example, some people may not have academic abilities, such as literacy skills and numeracy skills, but they may have a natural talent for practical skills, like car fixing, hairdressing and driving. Under such circumstances, forcing them to attend university can hinder their personal growth because they may not keep up with the course's content. This is evident in a statistical report from the Vietnamese Ministry of Education which revealed that nearly 30% of students decided to quit their educational institutions because they could not follow the course and fall behind their friends. Therefore, doing vocational training can be an effective alternative that provides students with the necessary knowledge and practical working experience that are useful for their future careers. On the other hand, it does not mean that the role of university education can be underestimated. Firstly, it is true that ignoring theoretical knowledge can harm seriously a nation's sustainability and innovative progress. It is undeniable that thanks to tons of research carried out by scientists who have spent years on academic training, the technological revolution has taken place in every country around the world, bringing significant benefits to humans. Secondly, different from vocational training, academic studies contain a wide range of subjects, including history, culture, literature, foreign languages and other specialized subjects. This expertise not only helps students to broaden their horizons but also provides them with more job opportunities in the future. In conclusion, the question of whether going to university for academic study or doing vocational training is a matter of personal preference with valid arguments for both sides. While university education provides learners with the foundation for doing research, vocational training equips the workforce with skilled workers such as plumbers and electricians. Though both approaches follow different pathways, they contribute significantly to society.